Babuskha Doll – PPA87 Challenge

Do you like my Babuskha Doll made from Stampin’ Up! punches?  I only used three punches: Two-Step Owl punch, 1″ Circle punch and Oval Extra-Large punch.  The lips are two of the owl’s toes cut out…  I haven’t seen this made before so I will consider it my original creation (like my Super Hero Owl) but there are so many blogs out there so who knows…

This card was perfect for the Pals Paper Arts Challenge PP87.  The challenge was to use punches on a card.  Click HERE to take a look at all the other beautiful entries to this challenge.

I made my first Babuskha Doll card for a Make and Take for a Workshop last weekend.  The hostess had requested I show the versatility of punches and one of the best punches for that is the Two-Step Owl punch!  However, I had wanted to do something they may not have seen before and I had recently been to a Handmade Market where I was looking at skirt for my daughter made of material with little Babuskha Dolls.  I didn’t buy the skirt (but wished I had) so it was on my mind while I was trying to work out what to make!  Anyway, here is the workshop card:

Cheers Deb Fearns

Supply List for the PPA87 Challenge Card: 

  • Stamp Set/s: Vintage Vogue & Bring on the Cake
  • Card: Riding Hood Red, Black, Very Vanilla & DSP Love Letter
  • Ink: Riding Hood Red, Black & Crumb Cake
  • Accessories/Tools:  Snail, Dimensionals, Paper Cutter, Bone Folder, sponges, Two-Step Owl punch, 1”(2.5cm) circle punch, Oval Extra-Large, 2-Way glue pen, paper snips and5/8” (1.6cm) Grosgrain Ribbon black.
9 thoughts on “Babuskha Doll – PPA87 Challenge

  1. Oh Deb – this is perfect! One of our closest family friends is Russian, and she will LOVE receiving a card like this! Thank you so much for sharing it. Clever thing!

  2. This is just stunning, Deb! You are sooo clever! I would never have thought of using the owl puch in this way – go you!!!

  3. I love this! I’ve been looking for a cute punch art project to show my stamp club girls. Did you hand cut the hair?

    • Hi Christy, I did hand cut the hair but another demo who has CASed the card told me she used the 5 petal flower for the hair. She cut out two petals and attached them to the circle and trimmed. Cheers Deb

Leave a Reply

