Dog Sympathy

Today’s post is a card I made last night on request from my mother-in-law.  Her friend’s dog passed away yesterday and she wanted to send her a sympathy card as she often looked after the dog.  I used the D is for Dog stamp set (p62 IB&C) and the tree is from Thoughts & Prayers stamp set (p112 IB&C).  The paper is from the new Sale-a-Bration Everyday Enchantment Designer Series Paper.

You can’t tell by the photo but I also embossed the leaves.  I used my VersaMarker on each of the leaves before heat embossing with clear embossing powder.  This gives the leaves a bit of a shadowing effect and a textured surface.

I used the Just Add Ink #101 – Sketch Challenge layout for the card.  I was particularly inspired by JAI Design Team member Kathy Tanner.  Kathy did some beautiful brayering on her card and although I don’t own a brayer (yet!) I used my Stampin’ Pastels (p146 I&C) to get a similar but much softer effect.

 

Here is a close up:

Inside the card:

Cheers Deb

Card Details:

  • Stamp Set/s: D is for Dog and Thoughts & Prayers
  • Card: Soft Suede, Peach Parfait and Very Vanilla
  • Ink:  Soft Suede, VersaMark Pad, VersaMarker, Crumb Cake
  • Accessories/Tools:  snail, dimensionals, paper cutter, bone folder, sponges, paper snips, hemp twine, Old Olive Striped Grosgrain Ribbon (retired), Antique Brass Brads, Stampin’ Pastels, Sponge Dauber, clear embossing power, heat tool, embossing buddy, power pals, circle scissors plus with glass mat, Designer Series Paper: Everyday Enchantment and Scallop Square die (non-Stampin’ Up!).
8 thoughts on “Dog Sympathy

  1. Deb, I feel very honoured that I inspired you to make this card.
    I think it is perfect!
    You’ve created a wonderful effect with the chalks.

    I’m sure it would have been a very difficult card to make but you have created a beautiful card that captures the mood required perfectly.

    I’m so glad that you played along with us at JAI this week and showed us your gorgeous creation.

  2. You have done a lovely job Deb, your soft background looks wonderful and l love the embossed shadow effect and the “D is for Dog” stamp set was perfect.
    Thanks for playing at JAI.

Leave a Reply

