Colour your Washi Tape with ink!

Coloured Washi Tape by Deb Fearns

Today’s card was created for the SUO Challenge #88 – Fun With New Toys!  I decided to play again with some of my favourite new toys from the upcoming Stampin’ Up! Seasonal Catalogue (28 Jan – 30 June).  How awesome does the Gold Watercolor Wonder Washi tape (sneak peek item) look coloured with ink!

I discovered this technique by accident as I have never seen this before (although I am sure I am not the first one to discover this).  I had been playing around with the painter’s tape technique and thought why can’t I just use washi tape instead as it is a similar low tack tape adhesive.  I then discovered due to the translucent pattern of the striped & dotted washi tape that it looked great coloured.

I loved this card so much and was excited about my new washi tape colouring technique that I shared it at the team meeting I hosted last night.  Everyone got to make the card!  I also shared with my fabulous team an easy way to create a watercolour style flower without the colouring.  The new Watercolour Wonder DSP has some great colour patterns that you can stamp the flower image directly onto then cut out.  Here is a close up of the flower (centre of flower coloured with Stampin’ Write maker):

Close up of flower by Deb Fearns

This card uses a number of new Stampin’ Up! sneak peek items:  Gold Watercolor Wonder Washi tape, Happy Watercolor stamp set, Gold Sequins, Watercolor Wonder DSP and Sale-a-bration twine.

Cheers Deb

6 thoughts on “Colour your Washi Tape with ink!

  1. Thank you, Deb for showing this technique and for preparing all the materials needed to make this card for us the other night. The card is so beautiful, and now I love using washi tape even more. Bussy

  2. All I can say is, I wish we lived in the same state so I could come and craft at your house. Fabulous technique with the washi tape and I love all the sneak peeks. It’s pinned 🙂 Thanks so much for joining us at SUO Challenges.

Leave a Reply

